Call for Prize Nominations

The Organized Section in Comparative Politics would like to invite you to submit nominations for the following prizes that will be awarded at the 2016 meeting of the APSA. Please direct nominations to members of the prize committees listed below. The deadline for nominations is March 15.

Luebbert Best Book Award

For the best book published in the field of comparative politics in 2014 and 2015.

Dan Slater (Chicago), Chair,
Marius Busemeyer (Konstanz),
Melanie Cammett (Harvard),
David Rueda (Oxford),

Luebbert Best Article Award

For the best article published in the field of comparative politics in 2014 and 2015.

Vivien Schmidt (Boston University), Chair,
Jane Gingrich (Oxford),
Guillermo Trejo (Notre Dame),

Sage Best Paper Award

For the best paper in comparative politics presented at the 2015 APSA meeting. Funds for the award are provided by Sage Publications.

Susan Woodward (CUNY Graduate School), Chair,
Rebecca Weitz-Shapiro (Brown),
Kevin Morrison (Pittsburgh),

Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Dataset Award

For a publicly-available data set in the field of comparative politics.

Carsten Jensen (Aarhus University), Chair,
Joe Wright (Penn State),
Dawn Brancati (Wash U.),

Powell Graduate Mentoring Award

Bi-annual prize to a political scientist who has demonstrated a particularly outstanding commitment to the mentoring of graduate students in comparative politics. The prize comes with a cash component of $1,500.

Nominations must consist of: 1) a letter of nomination (typically from a colleague or peer), which ideally would also include a list of the nominee’s current and former graduate students; 2) four to (a maximum of) eight additional letters of support -- typically though not necessarily exclusively from former or current graduate students -- that highlight the mentoring activities of the nominee; 3) the nominee’s curriculum vita.

Evelyne Huber (UNC), Chair,
Anke Hassel (Hertie School),
Mona Lena Krook (Rutgers),